If you want to get your nose pierced or a cool tattoo for your birthday or whatever occasion, believe it or not, a minor can get a tattoo or piercing in the state of Florida, whether you live in Florida or not.
If you're a child or the parent of child who's wanting to get this done in Florida, then here's what you need to do.
Florida Tattoo Requirments for Minor:
Must be 16 years of age or older
Must be accompanied by the Parent/Legal Guardian
Minor and Parent must provide valid government-issued identification
Written notarized consent from the parent/legal guardian in the format required by the Florida Health Department
Parent/Legal guardian must have proof of relationship
Reference Florida Minor Tattoo Statutes for further information on minor tattoos.
Image: Arm tattoo
Florida Piercing Requirments for Minor:
Must be accompanied by the Parent/Legal Guardian, if under the age of 16 years old
Parent/Legal Guardian must provide valid government-issued identification
Must provide a description of piercing
Written notarized consent from the parent/legal guardian
Reference Florida Minor Piercing Statutes
Image: Naval piercing
The notarized consent letter is a sworn statement from the parent or legal guardian with their name, address, childs name, date of birth, description of tattoo/piercing, parent/legal guardians signature, and the notaries required elements.
You can get this form notarized prior to arriving at the tattoo/piercing shop, by online notary, or you can hire a mobile notary to meet you at the shop to notarize this form on-site.
New piercings and tattoos can be exciting for teens as they near adulthood but it is pertinent to make sure they're done the legal way.
Brittney T. Palmer
Florida Notary Public